APRA announce date, venue and Song of the Year shortlist for 2016 APRA Awards

Courtney Barnett, Hiatus Kaiyote, Joel Little,

Tame Impala and Troy Cassar-Daley

announced in Top 20 list for APRA Song of the Year

With thousands of votes recorded over the last month, APRA AMCOS is proud to reveal the Top 20 contenders for the coveted APRA Song of the Year. The song list features a mix of compositions by established songwriters including Daniel Johns, Don Walker (Cold Chisel) and The Waifs alongside first time finalists such as Pond and Jarryd James. The shortlist sets up an intriguing contest for the Top 5 to be announced in early March.


Now in its 25th year, the APRA Song of the Year remains an authentic recognition of our outstanding local songwriting talent, and this year's shortlist is a positive reflection of the creative diversity in the Australian music industry featuring country, blues and roots, pop, rock and urban works.


Members have until 5.00pm AEDST on Tuesday 9 February to vote for the song they think should take out the peer-voted APRA Song of the Year. All members who vote are in the running to win a Gibson Les Paul Special DoubleCut in Yellow Top finish valued at $2,299 plus two tickets to the 2016 APRA Music Awards.



*Listed in alphabetical order of song title


1969 (SETH SENTRY)                                                                                  Nicholas Martin, Seth Sentry and Styalz Fuego

6000 MILES (THE WAIFS)                                                                          Josh Cunningham, Donna Simpson and Vikki Thorn

AERIAL LOVE (DANIEL JOHNS)                                                                 Daniel Johns and Joel Little

A-GRADE PLAYA (SHEPPARD)                                                                  Jay Bovino, Amy Sheppard and George Sheppard

ANCHOR (BIRDS OF TOKYO)                                                                     Ian Berney, Ian Kenny, Glenn Sarangapany,

                                                                                                                       Adam Spark and Adam Weston

ANOTHER AUSTRALIAN DAY (TROY CASSAR-DALEY)                          Troy Cassar-Daley and Pete Denahy

BEND (CHET FAKER)                                                                                   Nicholas Murphy and Curtis Mayfield

BORDERLINE WITH MY ATOMS (HIATUS KAIYOTE)                            Paul Bender, Perrin Moss, Simon Mavin, Naomi Saalfield

BREATHING UNDERWATER (HIATUS KAIYOTE)                                   Paul Bender, Perrin Moss, Simon Mavin, Naomi Saalfield

DEAD FOX (COURTNEY BARNETT)                                                          Courtney Barnett

DO YOU REMEMBER (JARRYD JAMES)                                                  Jarryd James and Joel Little

EVENTUALLY (TAME IMPALA)                                                                 Kevin Parker

FREEDOM RIDE (TROY CASSAR-DALEY feat PAUL KELLY)                  Troy Cassar-Daley and Paul Kelly

GEORGIA (VANCE JOY)                                                                             James Keogh

LET IT HAPPEN (TAME IMPALA)                                                             Kevin Parker

LOST (COLD CHISEL)                                                                                 Wes Carr and Don Walker

PEDESTRIAN AT BEST (COURTNEY BARNETT)                                     Courtney Barnett

SECONDHAND MAN (SHANE NICHOLSON)                                         Shane Nicholson

THE ZOMBIE (C.W. STONEKING)                                                            C.W. Stoneking

ZOND (POND)                                                                                            Nicholas Allbrook, Joseph Ryan, James Terry

                                                                                                                     and Jay Watson



2016 APRA Music Awards

Tuesday 5 April 2016

Carriageworks | Sydney



For further information regarding eligibility for the APRA Song of the Year and the APRA Music Awards visit the APRA AMCOS website. A full list of previous APRA Song of the Year winners can be found at http://apraamcos.com.au/songoftheyear/


Tag us on Twitter and Instagram - @APRAAMCOS

Hashtag - #APRAs



APRA AMCOS stands for the Australasian Performing Right Association Ltd and the Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society Ltd, who together are responsible for the non-profit collection and distribution of songwriting royalties to approximately 87,000 songwriter, composer and music publisher members, and around 3,000,000 copyright owners worldwide. apraamcos.com.au 


APRA AMCOS are also pleased to welcome back our sponsors of the 2016 APRA Music Awards


About Aon: For over 13 years, Aon have been the approved insurance partner for APRA AMCOS. We’re entertainment and event industry experts who’ve made it easy to get the insurance cover you need at wholesale pricing. Call our team of specialist insurance brokers on 1800 806 584 for advice relating to all of your entertainment and events insurance needs or, visit our website, aon.com.au/apraamcos to find out why over 10,000 entertainment businesses have chosen Aon.


About Gibson: Founded in Nashville in 1894, Gibson Brands is a global leader in musical instruments, consumer electronics, and professional audio, and is dedicated to providing the most exceptional customer audio products and experiences in the world. www.gibson.com


About Hostworks: Hostworks is more than a hosting company; we’re a solutions company, immersed in the digital realm and engaging customers in unique and innovative ways for the biggest brands. Within our Foundry we invent things, digital things. Technology and media can improve your customer connections when you engage The Foundry. We challenge everything. www.hostworks.com.au


About Moshcam: Filming in venues around the world, from London to New York, Los Angeles to Sydney and more, the Moshcam cameras have been rolling since 2007. We have captured the cream of the live rock music touring circuit, delivering fans of real music an unprecedented selection of exhilarating live music concerts when and where they want. Followers are also kept up to date on the latest rock news with reviews, feature stories and artist interviews. www.moshcam.com

Views: 34


You need to be a member of You're Never Too Old to Rock'nRoll to add comments!

Join You're Never Too Old to Rock'nRoll

Latest Activity


Interview with SHARLEEN SPITERI (Texas)

Created by Sharyn Hamey Apr 5, 2017 at 3:50pm. Last updated by Sharyn Hamey Apr 5, 2017.

JON STEVENS talks to Rock Club 40 about his new album STARLIGHT

Created by Sharyn Hamey Mar 31, 2017 at 8:57am. Last updated by Sharyn Hamey Apr 9, 2017.

TODD HUNTER (Dragon) talks to Rock Club 40

Created by Sharyn Hamey Mar 22, 2017 at 11:00am. Last updated by Sharyn Hamey Mar 22, 2017.

MARK SEYMOUR interview

Created by Sharyn Hamey Mar 21, 2017 at 7:57pm. Last updated by Sharyn Hamey Mar 21, 2017.

JOHN STEEL (THE ANIMALS) talks to Rock Club 40

Created by Sharyn Hamey Mar 13, 2017 at 10:43am. Last updated by Sharyn Hamey Mar 13, 2017.


Created by Sharyn Hamey Feb 22, 2017 at 1:08pm. Last updated by Sharyn Hamey Feb 23, 2017.

MARK GABLE interview

Created by Sharyn Hamey Feb 13, 2017 at 10:28am. Last updated by Sharyn Hamey Feb 22, 2017.

SCOTT CARNE talks to Rock Club 40 about the CULTURE CLUB Encore Tour

Created by Sharyn Hamey Dec 8, 2016 at 12:46pm. Last updated by Sharyn Hamey Dec 8, 2016.

© 2019   Created by Rock Club 40.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service